Entropy-solutions-50

Thematic online trimester and international conference « Fifty Years of Kruzhkov Entropy Solutions, and Beyond »

In 1970, appeared the classical paper First-order Quasilinear Equations in Several Independent Variables  by Stanislav N. Kruzhkov, establishing the notion of entropy solutions to scalar conservation laws. Fifty years later, a double scientific event is organized in order to discuss the historical development, the state-of-the-art and the modern trends in study of scalar conservation laws and related systems, as well as the posterity of the ideas and techniques of Kruzhkov entropy solutions.

  • An international conference was initially planned for December 2020 in Tours (France). Due to the world pandemic situation, it is postponed to the period August-December 2021 .

    The Scientific Committee consisting of Alberto Bressan (Penn State University, USA), Constantine Dafermos (Brown University, USA), Edwige Godlewski (Sorbonne University, France), Helge Holden (NTNU Trondheim, Norway), Evgueni Panov (Novgorod State University, Russia), Denis Serre (ENS Lyon, France), Eitan Tadmor (University of Maryland, USA)
    and the Organizing Committee consisting of Boris Andreianov, Guy Barles, François James, Vincent Perrollaz, Abraham Sylla (Institut Denis Poisson, Orléans-Tours, France), Carlotta Donadello (Bourgogne-Franche-Comté University, Besançon, France), Paola Goatin (INRIA Sophia-Antipolis, Nice, France), Siddhartha Mishra (ETH Zürich, Swiss), Nicolas Seguin (Rennes University, France)
    will announce the new dates of the conference in early 2021.

    The financial support to the conference is provided in particular by Institute Denis Poisson (CNRS UMR7013, Orléans-Tours), Seminar for Applied Mathematics ETH Zürich, ANR Nabuco, ANR MFG, GDR MaNU, University of Tours, Region Centre-Val-de-Loire, Tours Metropole,…
  • A thematic trimester consisting of a series of online talks will open the celebration in October-December, 2020.

The talks will take place via the platform BigBlueButton, two times per month, on Tuesdays. Most of the talks will be recorded. The recordings will be made available to the participants of the trimester.

  • Please click here for access the link to the seminar room, the connection procedure and for a quick « how to use BigBlueButton » guided tour

  • If you answered the invitation to register, a message was sent to you on October, 4. Please check your spam folder if you have not got the message.

Date, TimeSpeakerTitleAbstract, recording(s),…
(past) October 6, 2020, 2PM GMTDenis Serre, ENS Lyon (France)Multi-D Burgers equation: from Kruzhkov’s $L^\infty$-theory to singular measure dataAbstract, Recording at the conference room (talk), Recording in cloud (foreword+talk)
(past) October 20, 2020, 2PM GMTAlberto Bressan, Penn State Univ. (USA)A posteriori error estimates for numerical solutions to hyperbolic conservation laws Abstract, Recording in the conference room, Recording in cloud
(past) November 3, 2020, 3PM GMTPaola Goatin, INRIA Nice (France)Entropy conditions in traffic flow applicationsAbstract, Recording at the conference room, Recording in cloud
(past) November 17, 2020, 3PM GMT
Wen Shen, Penn State Univ. (USA)Nonlocal Models for Traffic Flow and Their Entropic LimitsAbstract, Recording in the conference room, the talk on YouTube
(past) December 1st, 2020, 3PM GMTCamillo De Lellis, IAS, Princeton Univ. (USA)Locally dissipative solutions of the Euler equationsAbstract, Recording in the conference room, Recording in cloud
(past) December 15, 2020, 3PM GMTKenneth H. Karlsen, Oslo Univ. (Norway)Kružkov’s Ideas and Stochastic Conservation LawsAbstract, Recording in the conference room, Recording in cloud*, Slides in .pdf, Slides animated in a video
*please jump from 29:00 to 36:00 in this recording.
We apologize for the major troubles with sound during the presentation.
(past) January 12, 2020, 3PM GMTEvgueni Yu. Panov, Novgorod Univ. (Russia)On decay of Kruzhkov entropy solutions of multidimensional scalar conservation laws Abstract, Recording in the conference room, Recording in cloud
(past) January 26, 2021, 3PM GMTEitan Tadmor, Univ. of Maryland (USA)On conservation laws without BV boundsAbstract, Recording in the conference room, Recording in cloud
(past) February 9, 2021, 3PM GMTGuiseppe Savaré, Università Bocconi , Milan (Italy)Evolution problems in spaces of probability measuresAbstract, Recording in the conference room, recording in cloud
(past) February 23, 2021, 3PM GMTBenoit Perthame, Sorbonne Univ. Paris (France)Structured equations in biologyAbstract, Recording in the conference room, Recording in cloud
(next talk) March, 9, 2021, 3PM GMTFabio Ancona, Univ. of Padua (Italy)On L^1 stability of BV Solutions in a Model of granular flowAbstract
March 23, 2021, 3PM GMT
beware of time change, check your zone !
Alexis F. Vasseur, Univ. of Texas at Austin (USA)Stability of discontinuous solutions for inviscid compressible flowsAbstract
April 6, 2021, 3PM GMT
beware of time change, check your zone !
Sylvie Benzoni, Univ. Lyon 1 and IHP Paris (France)TBA
April 20, 2021, 2PM GMTHelge Holden, NTNU Trondheim (Norway)TBA
The time slot corresponds to 4PM(16:00) in Rome, Paris, Berlin, Oslo, Madrid, Warsaw, Prague,…, to 3PM in London and Casablanca; 2PM in Ouagadougou;
to 10AM in New-York and Montreal, to 9AM in Texas and Toronto, to 7AM in Los Angeles and Vancouver, noon in Rio-de-Janeiro;
to 6PM in Moscow and St-Petersburg, 8:30PM in Bangalore, 10PM in Novosibirsk, 11PM in Beijing, midnight in Tokyo,…

To participate to the thematic trimester, please send an e-mail to boris.andreianov -at- univ-tours.fr ; you will receive a link to the BigBlueButton server which will allow you to connect. The link can be also found here